PDA

View Full Version : Need help with a French Translation

paintballpdh19
01-31-2010, 10:51 PM
please help... how would you say " The beautiful love of my life" in French :wub: thanks

FanDeAliFee
01-31-2010, 11:41 PM
please help... how would you say " The beautiful love of my life" in French :wub: thanks

Use Google Translate (http://translate.google.com/) and become "multilingual" overnight!

paintballpdh19
01-31-2010, 11:51 PM
Use Google Translate (http://translate.google.com/) and become "multilingual" overnight!

i tried that but i wanted to know what it was from a person who knows french... bewcause as a spanish student, i know that translators are rarely right, they don't translate it in the exact meaning, they just translate exact words.

Criss_pl
02-01-2010, 07:44 AM
I find Google Translate as a really good French-English translator, but I agree with your doubts, online translators are only machines. Context is always very important, so if you put only a single phrase, it's somewhat difficult to translate it exactly as you want it to be translated into French. It can even lead to some misunderstandings, but your phrase can be translated into something like:
"Le bel amour de ma vie", but it doesn't sound good;
"Le grand amour de ma vie", or just
"L'amour de ma vie"

However, I think that a native French speaker could clear all things up and provide a perfect translation:)

paintballpdh19
02-01-2010, 10:30 AM
I find Google Translate as a really good French-English translator, but I agree with your doubts, online translators are only machines. Context is always very important, so if you put only a single phrase, it's somewhat difficult to translate it exactly as you want it to be translated into French. It can even lead to some misunderstandings, but your phrase can be translated into something like:
"Le bel amour de ma vie", but it doesn't sound good;
"Le grand amour de ma vie", or just
"L'amour de ma vie"