PDA

View Full Version : Translation Assistance

VVVACCPLPNLY
04-20-2010, 06:28 AM
This thread is for all the non-French speakers. If you have a short phrase or two that you would like assistance in translating, post it here. Hopefully, the members who do know French will be able to help. Nothing too long, and no requests for lyrics. Whether it is French to English or English to French, you can post it here and have it translated. Also, please try to not go off topic too entirely much, that way people can find the answer to their question. Here is an example: how would I say 'Wish me luck!'? And if all goes well, a French speaker will respond to it with an accurate answer. I hope to be able to answer questions in this thread instead of asking, but I am still learning. So, can anybody help?

Chuck
04-20-2010, 01:21 PM
Re your example, V "Wish me luck" - it would depend whether you're asking for luck from one (familiar) person or not. If so, I think you'd get "Souhaites-moi la chance!" If not, it's "Souhaitez-moi la chance!"

Either way, here you go - "Bonne chance!"

VVVACCPLPNLY
04-20-2010, 07:10 PM
Merci, chuck! For helping with the example, and the translation!

paintballpdh19
04-20-2010, 08:10 PM
great idea for a thread, i will surely be posting here for some translations :D

Fall
04-20-2010, 10:05 PM
How do you say "This Is It?" :o:D

VVVACCPLPNLY
04-20-2010, 11:44 PM
C'est il ! Though, I doubt that conveys the same meaning. Also, is this correct: J'ai un entrevue pour une tâche à 13h (19h à Paris). Souhaites-moi la chance ! Feel free to correct spelling, grammar, or accents! It is here in English: I have an interview for a job at 13h (19h in Paris). Wish me luck! And is the time conversion correct? I am at the east coast, so Paris is 6 hours ahead? Or five?

paintballpdh19
04-21-2010, 09:15 PM
alright i got one... how would you say: " thank you for autographing my CD at the session for Alizee America a couple of weeks ago"

VVVACCPLPNLY
04-21-2010, 09:30 PM