Go Back   Alizée America Forum > Alizée > Alizée Discussion

Old 06-14-2007, 08:41 PM

Hylas1896 is on a distinguished road
Default Now I understand... [New fan]

You know, a year or two ago I would have considered anyone who spends a significant portion of time on a fan site like this as a little weird, or more. And even with respect to Alizee, I would have echoed a lot of the complaints that you often hear, that she's just an over manufactured french pop tart with a little personality. [I'd say I'm rather conservative when it comes to politics, religion, and sexuality.]

Now I understand. People are devoted fans for good reason. Not just because of Alizee, but because of life experience.

Let me explain. Last spring I got my Masters degree. The next fall, on my way to a Phd, everything, both personally and academically, went to $@#! and I ended up in the hospital. Almost. I moved back in with my parents, which was really humbling. I spent January and February in a pretty pitiful state... 18 hours a day just sleeping. I felt so weak and exhausted that I made a 'goal' of shaving at least every three days.

Slowly, I found that browsing YouTube and Google Video helped me remember my sense of humor and reignite my emotions. One day I saw J'en Ai Marre on Google Video Top 100. The first time I watched it, I left after 15 seconds. The second time, well... everyone here knows how things go from there! Now that I have mostly recovered, I can honestly say Alizee and Alizee's music played an important role in my healing.

My favorite video here is "Alizee - A Contre Courant - October 25, 2003".
If I watch this three times in a row, it's literally like I've taken a Valium. And as someone who is at times literally incapacitated by anxiety, I mean this in the most positive light imaginable!