Go Back   Alizée America Forum > Alizée > Alizée Translations

Old 05-24-2007, 08:31 AM
Κάτσε Καλά!

garçoncanadien is on a distinguished road
Default Homer's analysis of Lui ou Toi

Homer's Analysis of Lui ou Toi

Disclaimer: I am still learning Spanish; I by no means have a mastery of the language so if there are several mistakes in this essay translation please don't stone me I will correct them.

To all those who are not French speaking people this song at first glance can seem a bit cold, and a bit boring. The music is slow, without big effects like in other songs, that can continue to support this impression of coldness, if one does not understand the words. This is without doubt an erroneous impression. Very erroneous. Because, this song contains one of the best songs ever written by Mylène for Alizée, considered by many as the only one that can approach the awesome quality of the words to “Cœur déjà pris” [Heart already taken]. And so, this “monotonous” musicality is absolutely perfect for reflecting the serene sadness and the romantic infidelity of a woman that neither dares nor chooses between two lovers, because one complements the other, and the union of the two constitutes a perfect love. This is a precious love song, that describes Alizée’s mental confusion of dividing her love between two men, who are completely different from each other.

Doing this somewhat differently than “Moi…Lolita” [Me…Lolita], composed before Mylène Farmer and Laurent Boutonnat knew Alizée, the remainder of the songs on the disc Gourmandises [Delicacies] were written based on the personal experiences of Alizée, and “Lui ou Toi” [Him or You] is one of them, one that reflects a true love story of Alizée, preciously rare.